Ludwig van Beethoven | Music Quotes

Quotes offer so much insight into the life a person. They way the think. The way they feel. What values they hold to.

Here are a few of those precious words by classical and romantic period composer Ludwig van Beethoven.

On Music
Don’t only practice your art, but force your way into its secrets; art deserves that, for it and knowledge can raise man to the Divine.

Music should strike fire from the heart of man, and bring tears from the eyes of woman.

Music is a higher revelation than all wisdom and philosophy.

I will seize fate by the throat; it shall certainly never wholly overcome me.

Music comes to me more readily than words.

I only live in my music, and I have scarcely begun one thing when I start on another. As I am now working, I am often engaged on three or four things at the same time.

I must confess that I lead a miserable life. For almost two years, I have ceased to attend any social functions, just because I find it impossible to say to people, ‘I am deaf.’ If I had any other profession, I might be able to cope with my infirmity; but in my profession, it is a terrible handicap.

 

On Life and Virture

Recommend virtue to your children; it alone, not money, can make them happy. I speak from experience.

Recommend to your children virtue; that alone can make them happy, not gold.

This is the mark of a really admirable man: steadfastness in the face of trouble.

Only the pure in heart can make a good soup.

ludwig-van-beethoven-quotes.jpg

